Don't Miss the 2018 Shortlist Announcement!

Shortlist Announcement

Join Saskatchewan authors and publishers as the shortlist is unveiled for the 25th Saskatchewan Book Awards. This event takes place concurrently in Regina and Saskatoon. The Regina announcement will be hosted by RPL's Writer-in-Residence Andrew Battershill and the Saskatoon announcement will be hosted by Elizabeth Philips, previous winner of three Saskatchewan Book Awards. Get ready to add some fantastic books to your 2018 reading list!

Zarqa Nawaz to Host 25th Awards Ceremony

Zarqa Nawaz Announcement 2

Saskatchewan Book Awards is pleased to announce our host for the 25th Saskatchewan Book Awards: Zarqa Nawaz! Zarqa is the creator of the hit tv show Little Mosque on the Prairie and the author of Laughing All the Way to the Mosque. She is also a frequent public speaker on Islam and comedy, gender and faith, multiculturalism and plurality. We're very excited to welcome her to the stage, where she will help us celebrate 25 years of Saskatchewan writing and publishing! 

Thank You!

Thank you

We would like to thank everyone who has supported the Saskatchewan Book Awards over the past few months. Thanks to donations and our recent Brunchraiser, we were able to raise just over $2,000 for the organization, the equivalent of one of our unsponsored cash awards that was given to an author earlier this year.

This holiday season, support the authors and publishers of Saskatchewan by donating to the Saskatchewan Book Awards. The awards are a vital part of the writing community; the cash prize helps to fund new work for the author and publisher, and the attention and promotion generates new opportunities for our authors.Thank you to those of you who have already donated, and to those who support the organization by attending our events! 

Huge thanks to our donors:
Sandra Birdsell
June Blau
Starla Grebinski
Kim Kennett
Sylvia Legris
Yann Martel
John and Linda Nilson
Adam Pottle
Rob Rongve
Lesley Wilson
Dianne Young

Support the Saskatchewan Book Awards

Support SBA

Dear friends and supporters,
As we draw near to the end of 2017, we are asking for your help.
Earlier this year, the Board of the Saskatchewan Book Awards made the bold decision to award the Indigenous Peoples’ Publishing Award and the Young Adult Literature Award in spite of the lack of sponsorship for these two awards. This has placed considerable strain on the organization. We would like to ask for your support in the form of a donation or by purchasing a ticket to our upcoming Brunchraiser in Saskatoon.
Saskatchewan Book Awards exists to support the authors and publishers of Saskatchewan. We do the valuable work of sharing and rewarding the books created by people in our province. The awards provide important media coverage and a cash prize that assists authors and publishers in creating meaningful and exceptional work.
In 2017, the Indigenous Peoples’ Publishing Award was awarded to Coteau Books for Louise Halfe’s Burning in this Midnight Dream, which reckons with the very personal impact of residential schools on the poet and her family. The Young Adult Literature Award was awarded to Beth Goobie for The Pain Eater, a powerful story about a young woman who is raped by her classmates, and her courage in confronting them.
These stories are the reason we do what we do. We believe in their work, we believe it should be rewarded, and we believe their books deserve to reach a wider audience. We’ll be celebrating 25 years of recognizing and supporting Saskatchewan authors and publishers in 2018. Help us make it a year to remember.
If you are moved to make a donation to our organization, please click on the “Donate Now” button to the right to make a contribution through our CanadaHelps page. You will be issued a charitable donation receipt automatically through email. Alternatively, you could commit to making a small monthly donation through our CanadaHelps page, and support our organization all year long. If you would like to send us a cheque, it can be mailed to 315-1102 8th Ave, Regina, SK S4R 1C9, and a charitable donation receipt will be returned to you through the mail.
If you would like to purchase a ticket to our upcoming Brunchraiser, they can be purchased here. Tickets can be purchased for $30 through PayPal. Tickets are limited, so be sure to buy before they sell out!
Thank you for your ongoing support of our organization.
Courtney Bates-Hardy
Executive Director

Brunchraiser in Saskatoon



Tickets are now on sale for our 2nd annual Brunchraiser! This year, the event will be held at Bliss Fine Food in Saskatoon on Sunday, November 19th at 10 am and 12 pm. Tickets are available through our website for $30 each, which gets you a delicious breakfast and access to two special guest authors: Art Slade and Dwayne Brenna. Dwayne Brenna's first novel, New Albion won the Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award and Art Slade's Flickers was shortlisted for the Young Adult Literature Award at the 2017 Saskatchewan Book Awards. Both authors will read at each seating time, so be sure to check your calendars and save the date! Tickets are limited! 

  Art Slade           Dwayne Brenna


Legislative Library Reading

Join us at the Legislative Library in Regina for a reading from three award-winning authors. Louise Halfe, Trevor Herriot, and Bill Waiser will be sharing from their Saskatchewan Book Award winning books! A light lunch will be served!

Legislative Library Poster

RPL Logo
SAB web logo