Submissions Open for 2017 Saskatchewan Book Awards

Saskatchewan Book Awards is now open for submissions to the 2017 awards competition. The Call for Entries is available for download on our website. Once you're ready to submit, please use our online entry form. Copies of the book and a cheque for the submissions fee must be sent to the office at 315-1102 8th Ave, Regina, SK S4R 1C9. Submission fees are used for the administrative costs of processing the submissions and are therefore non-refundable. Submissions will close on Tuesday, November 1.

This year, there are 14 categories, including: Book of the Year, Fiction, Non-Fiction, Saskatoon Book, Regina Book, First Book, Poetry, Indigenous Peoples’ Writing, Young Adult Literature, Scholarly Writing, Publishing, Indigenous Peoples’ Publishing, Publishing in Education, and the Prix du livre français. The Children’s Literature Award is not being offered in 2017 but will be offered again in 2018.

The shortlist will be announced in February 2017 and award winners will be announced on Saturday, April 29, 2017 at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina. Contact the Saskatchewan Book Awards at 306-569-1585 or by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.


Submissions Open ad

Changes to the Poetry Award Criteria

The 2017 Call for Entries was released on August 2, 2016 with changes to the Poetry Award criteria. The changes indicated that co-authored books and anthologies would be eligible for the Poetry Award. The SBA office has since received feedback from the poetry community that the inclusion of anthologies is neither warranted nor wanted.

In 2015, a co-authored poetry book was submitted to the Book Awards that highlighted a gap in the criteria. At the Annual General Meeting in May, the board voted to change the criteria of the Poetry Award to allow books by more than one author to be eligible. Upon reviewing the motion made by the board at the AGM, we believe the intention was to make books by no more than two authors eligible. As such, the Criteria of the Poetry Award has been adjusted to reflect this decision. Books by one or two authors, but not anthologies, will be eligible for the Poetry Award. Submissions will open on September 1st.

Saskatchewan Book Awards deeply values the authors and publishers we support and celebrate, and we want our criteria to reflect this principle. SBA apologizes for any inconvenience that these changes may have caused, and appreciates the patience and support of our authors and publishers. Please contact the SBA office directly with any questions or concerns.

2017 Call for Entries

The Call for Entries for the 2017 Saskatchewan Book Awards is now available for download on our website. Books can be submitted by either the author or the publisher. Please read through the call for entries to determine your eligibility and begin planning your submission.

Submissions will open on September 1, 2016 for books that were published on or after November 2, 2015 and no later than October 31, 2016, except in the case of the Young Adult Literature Award and the Prix du livre français, which are open to books that were published on or after November 2, 2014 and no later than October 31, 2016.

If you have any questions, please contact the SBA office. We look forward to receiving your submissions!

Call for Jurors

Saskatchewan Book Awards is looking for jury members for the 24th Saskatchewan Book Awards. Eligible jury members include authors (with at least 2 published books), publishing professionals, professors, and librarians. Jury members must reside outside of Saskatchewan.

Jury members will read the books submitted in their category, select a shortlist and winning title, and provide comments for the shortlisted titles. Each jury member must have professional experience in the category under consideration and maintain confidentiality throughout the evaluation process. The majority of the work will take place between November 2016 and January 2017, with conference calls to determine the shortlist and winner occurring in January.

If interested, please contact the SBA office at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and include your name, address, phone number, a brief bio, and the category that you would prefer to evaluate. 

Next Year's Ceremony

Mark your calendars! The 24th Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday, April 29, 2017 at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina. Submissions will open in September. Keep an eye on our website for the Call for Entries, which will be posted later this summer.

Thank you to everyone who responded to our survey about the 2016 Awards Ceremony.

Recently, the SBA Board discussed the possibility of alternating the Awards Ceremony between Regina and Saskatoon. The survey found that 56% of people who responded felt that the Awards Ceremony should alternate between Regina and Saskatoon, but when they were asked if they would attend in Saskatoon, only 41% said they would attend. Many of the respondents were hesitant about a potential move due to the financial and logistical difficulties it would present. While the Board believes that alternating between the two cities is an excellent goal to work towards, SBA will continue to build our resources and find new ways to reach out to our audience in Saskatoon before making such a move.

Summer Hours

The SBA office will be closed on July 1 for Canada Day. We will reopen on July 6. Our summer hours will be reduced (Mon-Wed, 10-5), so please call ahead before visiting the office.

Upcoming Events

Tara Gereaux and Gerry Hill will be reading in Victoria Park on Wednesday, July 6th at noon for the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild's Words in the Park.

Words in the Park SWG

SBA shortlisted authors and winners, both past and present, will be presenting at the 2016 Saskatchewan Festival of Words in Moose Jaw July 14th-17th. More information can be found

SBA will have a featured panel on Saturday, July 16 at 1:30 pm in the Moose Jaw Art Museum Theatre with Elizabeth Philips, Cassidy McFadzean, and Connie Gault.

Festival of Words

Welcome to New Board Members

SBA is delighted to welcome six new board members: Lindsay Baker, Kali McDonald, Joe Couture, Giles Woodward, Léa Prpick, and Denise Leduc. They join Daniel Parr (returning Chair), Austin Davis (returning Vice-Chair), and Vijay Kachru on the 2016/2017 Board. You can find out more about them on our website.

Sponsorship Information

Saskatchewan Book Awards is looking for new sponsors. We have many exciting opportunities available for individuals and organizations who want to make a difference in the literary community. For more information, get in touch with Courtney Bates-Hardy at 306-569-1585 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

We Need Your Feedback!

We would love to hear your thoughts and comments on the 23rd Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony! Your feedback helps us tailor future events to your needs. Please fill out our brief survey here (survey closes June 14): 2016 Saskatchewan Book Awards Survey.

We hope to see you at our upcoming summer events! The Legislative Library will be hosting a winners' reading on June 15, and we're looking forward to participating in SWG's Words in the Park and the Festival of Words in July.

SBA Reading at the 2

RPL Logo
SAB web logo