You're Invited to the 2019 Shortlist Announcement!

Newsletter and social media

Join Saskatchewan authors and publishers as the shortlist is unveiled for the 26th Saskatchewan Book Awards. Find out which books are on their way to winning a Saskatchewan Book Award. The Awards Ceremony will be held on April 27, 2019 at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina, so come on out to see which books you'll be rooting for! Get ready to add these potentially award-winning books to your reading list!

This event is held concurrently in Regina and Saskatoon. In Regina, the event will be hosted by Regina Public Library's Writer-in-Residence Judith Silverthorne. In Saskatoon, it will be hosted by Saskatoon Public Library's Writer-in-Residence Elizabeth Philips. 

A Special Announcement!

Victor Sawa

Saskatchewan Book Awards is pleased to announce that Victor Sawa will be the MC for the 26th Saskatchewan Book Awards on April 27, 2019. Frequently dubbed the "modern renaissance man" for his wide variety of interests and experiences, Victor Sawa remains one of Canada's top conductors. A self-described "bookworm", he is excited to be hosting the 26th Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony. Stay tuned for more information in the New Year!

Support the Saskatchewan Book Awards!

Support the SK Book Awards

Dear friends and supporters,
This year, the Saskatchewan Book Awards celebrated 25 years of recognizing and honouring Saskatchewan authors and publishers. Over the course of 25 years, we have celebrated over 300 books and given out over $500,000 in awards.
We were so pleased to recognize the hard work of Saskatchewan authors and publishers this year, and we’ve already begun planning the 26th Saskatchewan Book Awards! As we draw near to the end of 2018, we are asking for your support in the form of a donation or by purchasing a ticket to our upcoming Steak Night fundraiser at Bushwakker Brewpub in Regina.
If you would like to become involved in a larger way, we are currently looking for sponsors for the Young Adult Literature Award and the First Book Award. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, please get in touch (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., 306-569-1585). You can also check out our Sponsorship Recognition information on our website.
Saskatchewan Book Awards exists to support the authors and publishers of Saskatchewan. We do the valuable work of sharing and rewarding the books created by people in our province. The awards provide important media coverage and a cash prize that assists authors and publishers in creating meaningful and exceptional work.
The stories that we celebrate are the reason we do what we do. We believe in the work of Saskatchewan authors and publishers, we believe it should be rewarded, and we believe these books deserve to reach a wider audience.
If you are moved to make a donation to our organization, please donate now through our CanadaHelps page. You will be issued a charitable donation receipt automatically through email. Alternatively, you could commit to making a small monthly donation through our CanadaHelps page, and support our organization all year long. If you would like to send us a cheque, it can be mailed to 315-1102 8th Ave, Regina, SK S4R 1C9, and a charitable donation receipt will be returned to you through the mail.
You can also support the Saskatchewan Book Awards at our upcoming Steak Night Fundraiser at Bushwakker Brewpub in Regina on Tuesday, November 27 from 6-8 pm. Tickets are being sold for $30, and they include steak, fries, garlic toast, caesar salad, and your choice of any regular Bushwakker brewed beer! Chicken or vegetarian options are available, but must be requested ahead of time. You can purchase tickets from our office (315-1102 8th Ave, Mon-Fri, 10am-5pm) or from your favourite staff or board member. We would love to see you there!
Thank you for your ongoing support of the Saskatchewan Book Awards!
Courtney Bates-Hardy
Executive Director

Thank You to the 2017/2018 Board!

Thank You to the Board


Saskatchewan Book Awards is so grateful to our 2017/2018 Board members for volunteering their time to our organization. We would especially like to thank Léa Beaulieu Prpick, who served as Chair this year. Donna Woloshyn has stepped up as the new Chair of the Board, with Robin Ganev continuing as Vice-Chair. Welcome to our new and returning board members! 

2018/2019 Board of Directors:
Donna Woloshyn - Chair
Robin Ganev - Vice-Chair
Zoé Beaulieu Prpick - Secretary
Heather Phipps - Treasurer
Brenda Niskala - SaskBooks Rep
Jack Walton - Sask Writers' Guild Rep
TBA - Sask Library Association Rep
Joe Couture
Denise Leduc
Sheila Petty

Congratulations to the 2018 Award Winners!

Extended Families

Winner of the Regina Public Library Book of the Year Award! 

 Glass Beads

Winner of the Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award! 

Islands of Grass

Winner of the University of Saskatchewan Non-Fiction Award and the City of Regina Book Award! 


Winner of the Rasmussen, Rasmussen and Charowsky Indigenous Peoples' Writing Award and the O'Reilly Insurance and The Co-operators First Book Award!

Breathing at Dusk

Winner of the Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award and the City of Saskatoon and Public Library Saskatoon Book Award!

When the Trees Crackle

Winner of the Children's Literature Award!

Fiery Joe

Winner of the Jennifer Welsh Scholarly Writing Award!

Claiming Anishinaabe

Winner of the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport Publishing Award!

Speaking In Cod Tongues

Winner of the Publishing in Education Award, sponsored by University of Regina Faculty of Education and SaskBooks

Aaniiih Gros Ventre Stories

Winner of the Saskatoon Public Library Indigenous Peoples' Publishing Award!