SBA-logo

A book of Ecological Virtues

Living Well in the Anthropocene
  • Author Name: Heesoon Bai, David Chang, and Charles Scott (eds.)
  • Publisher: University of Regina Press
  • Publication Date: 2020
  • ISBN: 9780889777569

About the Book

For readers of "The Sixth Extinction," a manifesto for meaningfully confronting our role in climate change and committing to sustainable, eco-friendly living during an era irrevocably marked by human activity. Despite our brief tenure on planet Earth, Homo sapiens have caused an epoch of climate change and declining ecological diversity: the Anthropocene. This age has been singularly defined by humans’ unique and unprecedented ability to destroy our only habitat. In the face of global warming and animal extinction, it is vitally important we collectively turn toward the cultivation of eco-virtues—a new set of values by which to live—if there is to be any hope for us and other species to continue to exist. Within this collection are Nunavut hunters, religious theologists, acclaimed academics and poets—including writing by philosopher and poet Jan Zwicky recently deemed a seminal text on climate change by The Guardian. The contributors bring a wide breadth of perspectives from diverse realms of philosophy, culture, belief, and writing style. "A Book of Ecological Virtues: Living Well in the Anthropocene" speaks to humanity’s mortality and transience within the study of ecology, including the environmental ramifications of longer life, improved medicine and treatments, and even funeral rites. It is a philosophical and timely collection of essays on how we can embody a more sustainable future through daily action and habit change.

About the Author

Heesoon Bai is Professor in Philosophy of Education in the Faculty of Education at Simon Fraser University. She teaches and researches in: epistemology and education, ethics and moral education, Foundations of education, and contemplative approaches to education. Heesoon Bai lives in Vancouver. / David Chang is a teacher educator, and PhD candidate in the Faculty of Education at Simon Fraser University. He researches contemplative approaches to environmental education. David Chang lives in Vancouver. / Charles Scott is Associate Professor of Education at City University in Canada and an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Education at Simon Fraser University. His scholarly areas of research and teaching are contemplative inquiry in education; curriculum, pedagogy, and assessment; dialogue in education; and spirituality in education. Charles Scott lives in Vancouver. /

2021 Book Awards